Eight inductees honored at Homecoming Wall of Fame ceremony

During this fall’s Homecoming, Maryville College held its Wall of Fame ceremony. The Wall of Fame was established in 1975 to honor exceptional athletes and coaches. Inductees are chosen yearly through a voting process, typically with a waiting period of around 10 years before their induction.

The 2023 Wall of Fame consists of Katie Beckham, Janell Menard Brady, Trey Bridwell, Pam Russell Buecker, Kate Poeppelman Childs, Matt Ennen, Lorenzo Howard and Eric Weatherbee. 

Beckham, in 2006-2009, helped the Maryvile College Scots win the NCAA tournament in Softball. Brady also helped the Scots to an NCAA tournament three times and helped lead her Women’s Basketball team to four straight regular season championships. Brady played from 2009-13. 

Bridwell, 2009-11, played Men’s Golf in 2011 and completed the season as the top-ranked golfer in par-3 and par scoring. Buecker, coached by Pepe Fernandez in 1991, played on the first Maryville Scots team. She was captain of the Women’s Soccer team for her last season during her senior year. Her son, Reeves Becker (‘27), now plays on the Men’s Soccer team. 

Childs played Volleyball from 2002-06 and was a two-time MVP and all-conference player. Ennen played on the Men’s Basketball team from 1998-02. Ennen was a four-year starter who was the 2002 Conference Player of the Year, and he also helped the Scots to four NCAA tournament bids. Howard played Football from 1992-96, and his 13 tackles and 72 interceptions returned yards aided in his All-American selection reward in the 1995 season. Weatherbee played on the Men’s Cross Country team in 2002-04, and in 2002-03, was the Great South Athletic cross country champion. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *